Love is everywhere

April 24, 2007

woodwoodwoodwood3woodwood4woodwood2
(Nearly fell for you Wood Wood)

This invariably happens. I take a trip to see friends, family, or just the sights, and end up falling into frenzied consumer behaviour, with consumption never far from my thoughts. A last day is usually dedicated to strategic planning and mapping out the “must-hits” with such precision that there is actually an itinerary -start at the north end at Houston, grab a Jamba Juice for sugar and energy, and sweep down through Soho, crossing through Broadway over to Howard and back up through Mott and Elizabeth. After the initial assault, there is some downtime to reflect on the “thinking abouts,” rejuvenate, and then back out to do the final damage. This last day is usually traversed alone, as it is serious business -no socializing or lollygagging. It is essentially a ridiculous mission to ensure that my return flight (and memory) will not be riddled with regret or remorse.

This time was different. I was smart and indifferent, and really did my damnedest not to succumb to the will of retail. I was triumphant, but very nearly fell victim (twice): once to the shopping with girlfriends machine, and another to the stellar cuteness of some Wood Wood pieces. The first I reasoned my way out of, and the second, I figured I should be in the neighborhood of a Wood Wood shop very soon, so why not buy straight from the source and pick up a bunch of other cute stuff while there.

Yes, spring was in the air and I was falling in love all over the place (with a few gorgeous things, but mainly great friends, great weather, and a vibrant city), but I am kind of beating myself up about how I have not grown out of this crazy shopping phase. Going back in history, the event seems to have repeated itself over and over: Aunt having to drive me to Del Amo when I was a kid so I could buy a bunch of crap at Contempo; leaving a best friend (aka dead weight on such a monumental shopping day) to fend for herself on the streets of Shibuya so I could cover all of my bases with maximum efficiency, splitting up with another friend in Copenhagen so we both could do our damage and regroup later. All of this when I could have been having an extra day of good clean sightseeing or cultural fun, spending time with great friends and loved ones, or simply enjoying the day and the many moments within without having to buy stuff I don’t need. Shopping frenzy only hits when I’m on vacation, since there is a sense of urgency in the possibility that I will never see these things again and be missing my chance in some strange way.

So I am challenging myself on my May trip not to get crazy and just chill. Shopping cannot be avoided (nor would I want to), but the madness has to stop. I simply can’t afford to fall in love again and again, and there is more to a holiday than shopping…I think.

4 Responses to “Love is everywhere”

  1. Jessica Says:

    I love the top left dress – I am constantly looking for easy stylish pieces like this. Thanks for the info and introducting me to Wood Wood

  2. minirobot Says:

    That’s the one that nearly did me in -actually very reasonably priced and I Heart just got the stock. The hood and embroidery are soo cute; I keep thinking about it.

  3. kara Says:

    brilliant, so well said.
    it seems there will always worries of either coming back and feeling regret or feeling oversold. oh consumerism!


  4. …and here i thought i was the only one who shopped contempo. (once upon a time a long long time ago.)

    i bet your closet is something worth salvitating over.


Leave a Reply

