Do you dream of weddings?

March 20, 2007

1creamderssp2
(Photo via Olive Shoppe)

I have never really stopped to ponder what a future wedding would look like, probably since I’m not one to plan too far in advance and also perhaps a little scared of the whole wedding hoopla; but once in a blue moon, something (ie a beautiful dress) makes me think and dream. This vintage brocade dress in its glorious backlessness and perfect waistline pleats makes me think it would be nice to trot over to town hall and sign some papers in a very unceremonious fashion – the garment is certainly something special, but I don’t want to get too ahead of myself.

Another instance that got me thinking happened about a year ago when I saw a dress on the sale rack at Morales. It was a very special thing that had a subtle red and blue striped cotton broadcloth lining underneath a beautiful antique lace overlay. It had a very sundress-y quality about it but it was so elegant. I thought about buying it just to be prepared, but did not want to alarm anyone. But riddle me this: when you come across something so picture perfect, is it not smart to be pragmatic, snag it and stash it in the back of the closet as a reserve, just in case? (Or is that too scary?)

4 Responses to “Do you dream of weddings?”

  1. kara Says:

    yes!! this is a bit scary, but a large wedding (if marriage at all is to be had) is not me, and i recently came to the thought and vision that city hall is where it’s at. i pictured walking down a hall to meet the man wearing a dress that looked like this almost to a t! it is that perfect dress. for a wedding in city hall.
    now i go back to cringing at the thought of the above mentioned 🙂
    on advance buying, i always tell myself no and always seem to regret not picking it up. it is never ever there when i decide i want it.

  2. the_kitten Says:

    well, I have never thought about such things … only about that I think my wedding dress would look more like a white cocktail dress, elegant but fun. Brocade is a little austere for my taste.. but what I really never had thought about is buying my wedding dress in advance!? not in my age..

    (I am 21, if you wonder)

    but, no, it’s not too scary 🙂

  3. the ue Says:

    well, you never know when you’re going to have a flash flood wedding. and for such a bargain basement price, its worth hiding in the back of the closet.

    but reason also speaks: there’s been too many times where this (purchase for the just-in-case)has occurred. and when the situation finally did pop up, i ditched the back of the closet item for a reason to shop. after all the excitement of owning such a dress does wear off once you actually own it for quite some time.

  4. minirobot Says:

    God, how anticlimactic! You are so right. Reason taken.


Leave a Reply

