What’s in an icon?

May 31, 2006


It is a certain grace. My taste in style icons generally gravitates towards sprite-like creatures (with a mysterious side) like Jean Seberg. I love the charm of close cropped hair on the irresistably cute. I thought I was solo in my taste, however a fashion glossy this past month claimed that Edie Sedgwick would be "out" by the end of the summer to be replaced by cute Jean for the autumn.

I was somewhat crestfallen that this lovely pixie (who to me will always be Patricia Franchini, and has been a personal style icon for me since the age of thirteen) and her style may be coopted by Hollywood starlets and filter onto the streets. Will the masses appreciate her for things beyond the superficial? Will they know about her turbulent life and times and acknowledge her role as an activist? I guess since a biopic starring Kirsten Dunst is in the works, they will.

2 Responses to “What’s in an icon?”


  1. my thoughts exactly. that big old marketing machine has a way of making all that is bright and mysterious cheap and diluted.

    …is there really a biopic planned?

    (sigh)

  2. minirobot Says:

    that’s what i hear.


Leave a Reply

