Cherry blossom carrots

May 10, 2009

Whenever I fly back from a visit in Vancouver, my mom always makes me a bento lunch to bring on the plane.  I flew to Amsterdam yesterday and in my bento I found among many inari, a green onion omelette and genmai matcha teabags, carrots that were cut by hand to resemble cherry blossoms.  I remembered she had gotten up a bit early to make prepare it for me and as I ate those carrots I was filled with so much love for this perfect bento box and the extraordinary person who made it.

3 Responses to “Cherry blossom carrots”


  1. how sweet, did you take a picture? i cant even imagine…

  2. minirobot Says:

    i thought about it but didn’t (camera was in overhead bin) and instead wrote about it in my notebook. i got all verklempt eating it though.

  3. monky Says:

    very sweet


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

